Sarah Gilmartin Mairtin Crawford Award for Short Story winner 20202

In 2022, judges of the Mairtín Crawford Award for Poetry 2022 selected joint winners; 

Kathryn Bevis

Jim McElroy

Sarah Gilmartin Mairtin Crawford Award for Short Story winner 20202

Kathryn Bevis is a neurodivergent poet and poetry techare, former Hampshire Poet Laureate, and founder of the Writing School Online. She is the Selected Poet for Magma (the Solitude issue) and her poems have appeared widely in magazines and journals, including: Poetry Review, Poetry Wales, Poetry Ireland Review, The London Magazine, Mslexia, Wasafiri, and Bad Lilies. She designs and delivers poetry courses for adults in mental health settings, substance-misuse recovery settings, and prisons and is working towards her first collection.

MCA22 Poetry Joint Winner Jim McElroy

Jim McElroy was first published in 2018. In 2019 he was selected for Poetry Ireland Introductions, won second prize in the Bridport Poetry Prize, and was awarded an Individual Artist Award by Arts Council NI. He is the winner of the 2020 Francis Ledwidge Poetry Award, the 2021 Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing, the 2021 Poetry Business International Book and Pamphlet Competition, and joint winner of the 2022 Mairtín Crawford Poetry Award. He has been shortlisted for the Rialto Pamphlet Award, Gutter Edwin Morgan Prize, Bridport Poetry Prize, Cúirt New Writing Prize, Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Competition, runner-up in the Fingal Poetry Prize and nominated for Pushcart and Forward prizes. His winning pamphlet, We Are The Weather, is published by SmithlDoorstop.

Click here to read his winning collection of poems.

If you want to know more about Jim, click here to read an exclusive interview with the poet 



Stay in the loop with The Belfast Book Festival

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join the Belfast Book Festival on facebook join the Belfast book Festival on twitter