2020 marks the 4th year of the Mairtín Crawford Award for Poetry and the 3rd year of the Short Story Award. The Awards would not be possible without the continued support of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, Belfast City Council, NIPR Books and The River Mill. Below is a list of the winners of the Mairtín Crawford Awards for Poetry and Short Story for the past 4 years: 


Poetry Winner: Phoebe Walker

Poetry 1st runner-up: Toby Buckley

Poetry 2nd runner-up: Linda McKenna

Short Story Winner: Emma Hutton 

Short Story 1st runner-up: Aingeala Flannery

Short Story 2nd runner-up: Lucy Beevor



Poetry Winner: Milena Williamson

Poetry 1st runner-up: Paul McMahon

Short Story Winner: Gaynor Jones

Short Story joint 1st runner-up: Niall Burke

Short Story joint 1st runner-up: Elizabeth Gallagher



Poetry Winner: Rosamund Taylor

Poetry joint 1st runner-up: Ross Thompson 

Poetry joint 1st runner-up: Michael Dooley



Stay in the loop with The Belfast Book Festival

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join the Belfast Book Festival on facebook join the Belfast book Festival on twitter