The Mairtín Crawford Award

Each year, the Belfast Book Festival is proud to present the annual Mairtín Crawford Awards for Poetry and for Short Story.   

The Awards are aimed at writers working towards their first full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel. Both published and unpublished writers can submit between 3-5 poems for the poetry award, and a short story of up to 2,500 words for the short story award, with the only stipulation being that they have not yet published a full collection of poetry, short stories, or a novel.


The submissions window for the 2022 Awards is now closed and the Winners will be announced early June during the Belfast Book Festival.

The winners of the 2021 Awards were: 

  • Short Story Award: Lucy Beevor
  • Poetry Award: Luke Allan

To read the work and for more information about all the previous winners and runner-ups click here. 

Our thanks go to NIPR, the National Collection of Northern Ireland Publications and CILIPfor their contribution to the Cash Prizes, and to The River Mill for their generous support.

river-mill-logo-copy.jpg   new-nipr-logo_70.jpg    cilip-ireland-logo.jpg

Stay in the loop with The Belfast Book Festival

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join the Belfast Book Festival on facebook join the Belfast book Festival on twitter