Simon Gilbert Mairtin Crawford Award for Short Story winner 2023

We are delighted to introduce to you the winner of the Mairtín Crawford Award for Short Story 2023 Simon Gilbert. 

Click here to read his winning work, Perfect Water.

Getting to spend a week’s writing time at The Crescent has been invaluable- nothing makes you feel more professional than having dedicated time and space to write. Being able to do it amongst such a lovely team, in such a beautiful environment, has been a real pleasure- and very productive. To any writers thinking of submitting for next year’s Mairtín Crawford Award- do it! I can't recommend it enough. 

We are also delighted to reveal the runner-ups and Shortlist of the Short Story Award was as follows:

1st Runner Up: Stephen O'Donnell

2nd Runner Up: Robin Booth

Shortlist (n alphabetical order): Edward Barnfield, Emma Devlin and Megan Jones.

Many congratulations to all the nominees!


Stay in the loop with The Belfast Book Festival

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join the Belfast Book Festival on facebook join the Belfast book Festival on twitter