The winner's of the Mairtín Crawford Awards in 2023 were;

MCA23 Poetry Winner reading work

Short Story Winner - Simon Gilbert

Click here to read Simon's winning work.


MCA23 Poetry Winner reading work

Poetry Winner - Estelle Price

Click here to read Estelle's winning work.

The runner-ups of the 2023 Awards were as follows:

Short Story:

  • 1st Runner Up: Stephen O'Donnell
  • 2nd Runner Up: Robin Booth
  • Shortlist (n alphabetical order): Edward BarnfieldEmma Devlin and Megan Jones.


  • 1st Runner Up: Jamie O'Halloran 
  • 2nd Runner Up: Niamh Mac Cabe
  • Shortlist (n alphabetical order): Eva Isherwood-Wallace, Jeanette Burton and Fiona Hanley.

Many congratulations to all the nominees! 

The announcement of the winners took place during the Belfast Book Festival 2023, and it was a beautiful evening of readings from the placed winners. 

A big thanks to our esteemed Judges - Moyra Donaldson and Annemarie Ní Churreáin (Poetry), and Lucy Caldweld, Rachael Kelly and Chris Wright (Short Story) for their hard work and passion for the Awards.

A big thanks to the Sponsors of the 2023 Awards, CILIP and Bullitt Hotel, for their continued support of the Awards.  

Stay in the loop with The Belfast Book Festival

Be the first to hear about upcoming events, courses and workshops. Sign up to our mailing list today

join the Belfast Book Festival on facebook join the Belfast book Festival on twitter